A Cute Little Thief

I don't know about you but I have a love/hate relationship with squirrels.

I took a supply of mixed bird food to Sherwood Forest and sprinkled little heaps on a shelf around the outside area in the morning and early evening to attract the abundant birdlife that probably had little need of it. It's probably more for my enjoyment than anything else. We had robins, dunnocks, blackbirds, chaffinch, coal tits, blue tits, great tits and nuthatches (e also saw treecreepers but they stayed independent of us).

Of course, the squirrels came in ones and twos at first but if left to themselves, I'm sure we'd have had a dozen out there. They sit there and hoover up the food and they also chase off any small bird that has the temerity to try for a beakful! Frances' little French Bulldog, Selkie,  enjoyed seeing them off but as they left yesterday it was down to me to do that work.

I made a deal with this one. I said that if he sat there and looked cute for me, I'd let him have a little feed. I think s/he kept her/his part of the deal.

We're home now after a much easier journey than we had on the way up. I'd better attend to my own birds, I tend not to get to much bother from squirrels here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.