Geoff Humble Ainsworth

I travelled to the other side of Birmingham today to the funeral of my Dad's cousin Geoff Humble Ainsworth.  It might seem strange to you since that doesn't seem like such a close relative and  it is a long way, but it was important to me.

My  family roots are in Oldham and much of my Dad's family remained there all their lives.  By chance Geoff, my Dad's cousin had two girls exactly the same ages as me and my sisters, living on the same road - Meadow Lane - as my Mum's mum..  So when our family went from Croydon to Oldham to visit family at Christmas we were always popping in and out of the Ainsworth's home, which we loved.  Those connections and memories made so young are very strong.

Geoff died aged 81 after  going downhill with dementia, Parkinsons disease and then a series of falls that he couldn't recover from.  He died at home with his family around him.  

Wonderful to see the girls Alison and Caroline and their families, and celebrate the life of a good man.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.