A Wasted Day

Just before going into hospital, I acquired a 2TB Solid State Drive, to replace the existing 1TB SSD in my MacBook Pro.  Until today, I had done nothing with this, as I did not really feel up to the hassle that would be involved.  At about 0800 hours this morning I carefully dismantled the MacBook Pro, removed the existing drive and used a self-contained clone facility to copy its contents onto the new 2TB SSD; this took a little over an hour.  I then put the new drive back into the computer to check its functionality.  Everything was fine, except that I had only cloned 1TB, leaving the rest of the 2TB unusable.  I decided to revert to the original drive and reformat the new 2TB drive; not possible, somehow the 1TB drive had become corrupted.  I am now in the process of copying the data on the 2TB drive onto the 1TB drive, before I can do anything else, overall this has already taken more than seven hours, effectively a wasted day.  I will now have to endeavour to start all over again, but ensuring that the cloned drive does not prohibit access to the additional space.  Today’s blip is of the MacBook Pro, showing the empty drive space, with the extra picture showing the lid and the bottom as well.  I now suspect that it will take me another entire day to sort this out.

Having continued working on this, I have currently given up until I can acquire new software for copying the drives; what I have at present is too limited.   
 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.