The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Caen Hill (Thursday 7th April 2016)

I had heard that there was a pair of swans nesting on the Caen Hill locks again this year and had seen photos, but was keen to see for myself, so yesterday I was able to visit. I like to think that the swans remember me from previous years because they let me get as close to the nest as I want without either of them showing the slightest concern.

I did get some shots of the female swan on the nest (these will be in the album), but they looked similar to shots I have taken before so I have instead chosen this more general scene of boats coming up through the lock flight and in which both swans are visible.

The nest is to the right of the boat and the male swan is in the foreground, very preoccupied with getting hold of a parsnip that was floating on the canal, presumably dropped by a boater at some point. It was too broad to fit in his bill but that didn't deter him and he was still busily trying to grasp it when I left.

L.
8.4.2016 (2037 hr)

Blip #1799 (#2049 including archived blips)
Consecutive Blip #007
Day #2205
LOTD #1033 (#1157 including archived blips)

Swan series
Landscape series
Canals series
Caen Hill series
Kennet and Avon Canal series

Taken with Pentax K-50 (Yellow) and Pentax smc P-DA 17-70mm F4 AL (IF) SDM lens

A Trip To Caen Hill Locks, 7 April 2016 (Flickr album)

For anyone interested, the album for  Tuesday's Bowood visit is now posted:
A Trip To Bowood, 5 April 2016 (Flickr album)

Also backblipped today:
The Old Forge (Wednesday 6th April 2016)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Ravi Shankar and George Harrison - Prabhujee (1997)
Ravi Shankar was born on this day (b. 7 April 1920, d. 11 December 2012) as Rabindra Shankar Chowdhury
From the album Chants Of India, the last album that Ravi Shankar and George Harrison worked on together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.