Croft16

By Croft16

Hastily taken shot in the growing gloom at 8:30..

..A is very good, he let's me borrow his tractor whenever I need it. Today was one of those days, the ground has dried up sufficiently to do the ploughing. SO off I go to get it and try and start it.. It was a no go. Turned key, and nothing. The battery was fully charged. Just could work out what was wrong. Got J to come and have a look, but he couldn't do it till 3:30..

So spent some time in the new tunnel digging and filling the raised beds,

J came and fixed the tractor (bad connections and things), and I decided to give it a go.
Started tractor, put plough on, and down the croft armed with plough, spade and dung fork!. I had to spread 40 piles of horse manure before I could plough, raised a bit of a sweat, but they spread quite well. And then to the ploughing.

Now I've worked in agriculture all my life, but not done a lot of tractor work. So ploughing is something I know "how" to do, but never done a  lot any until I started on the croft. I had to bury a liberal, now crispy, layer of seaweed, with horse manure on top. Now I won't win any prizes for keeping it straight, but when it comes to burying it, I think I score near top marks. I'm more than happy..

Drove round with the eggs again as it's turned colder, and showery now. Now having an extra couple at home!!..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.