The Living Years

By emmaneni1

Elephant Tooth

My brother is a geography teacher and today he brought home this. He was dissappointed by my nephew's reaction though. Even though he was warned that it wasn't a toy, when presented with his surprise he promptly burst in to tears and said that it wasn't a toy!! I think my brother was a bit upset but I hope my enthusiasm made up for it. I genuinely was really interested, what an interesting treat. It's huge!!

Another funny story may be slightly politically incorrect so I hope this won't offend anyone. My brother and I were talking about 24 hour supermarkets and how at university we used to go late at night and get lots of reduced stuff. My brother agreed that he has been a few times but that the problem was there were just a lot of gypsy tarts. I then asked whether there were a lot of gypsies around this are! My brother explained to me that a gypsy tartis a Kentish speciality. I've asked him to bring one for me tomorrow when he goes to the supermarket because I'm intrigued.

M and I had a fantastic day. We went to town and had a coffee. Well I had a coffee, she had milk and snacks and we both did lots of giggling. On the way home I noticed an inscription on a house. A closer look showed that it was The Six Poor Travellers' House and that you can go inside. It was a very interesting place and superbly presented, especially the garden. We gave a slightly bigger donation than I'd planned as M seemed to take pleasure in stealing several flowers! We met a very friendly old man at the greengrocer's who used to go on holiday to Devon and Cornwall with his wife. I love the way people start chatting to you when you're with a baby.

Tonight I'm babysitting so my brother and sister in law can go out on a 'hot date'! Fingers crossed the little ones stay asleep.

They're back and babies stayed asleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.