Hanullis

By Hanulli

Herman van Veen

Herman,
In you I recognize
the wisdom of the court jester
the impertinence of the moralist
whenever you act
as if you have only one purpose:
to amuse us. 
                          Georges Moustaki

We have had the great pleasure to visit a concert of my favourite artists:
Herman van Veen
I'm charmed by him since I dropped in one of his concerts in the early eighties in Munich. Until then I followed his way throught the life. Funny enough my husband was also a fan of him (and that was almost the only kind of music we both liked, when we met :-D  )
The live concerts are so much better than his CDs and he always touches my heart. He makes me laugh and he makes me cry .
Im sorry that I couldn't find an English version of "Lucas", so I try a simple translation with the help of Google translator  ;-)

Lucas
When Lucas was nine years old, he asked his parents: "Why was I born the way I am ?" Father choked on his coffee , mother stopped reading her book. "Listen, Lucas ," she said. " Mom and Dad once went  to a large garden full of flowers. All species grow there, too many to mention. Blossoms of beauty , violets for faithfulness, royal carnations, the rose of: " I love you !"
Suddenly we saw a flower, all the way back in the corner. We looked at what it was called, but it was in no book. It grew between the stones, beside a large wooden barrel. So it was little water and it barely saw sun."
"And then ?" Lucas asked.
"Are you sure? " , asked men at the gate. "This flower requires a lot of attention , it is a vulnerable species." "But we knew it really sure , this flower that we wanted. We will take good care of him and, Lucas, this flower ...
… that's you."
(Mark Haayema wrote this text over a boy with Down Syndrom)
Here you can see a dutch Version of "Lucas".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.