Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

Navigation - Day 1

I've been wanting to do a navigation course for a while because, although I can read a map, I want to be able to use a compass with it for direction, distance etc, no matter what the weather's like.  Today the instructor took the three of us from Ladybower Reservoir up to the peak of Lost Lad (see extra), using just about every landscape feature available to teach us what to do.

Using the compass to take a bearing is a whole lot easier than I thought it was, my pacing for distance was a little out but I guess that's down to experience and I'm learning to look at the map in far more detail than I'm accustomed to.  A successful day, and more to come tomorrow.  I'm tired though, in both brain and body.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.