Grackle...

...or at least I think it is!  It's picture is pretty similar to the Brewer's Blackbird, but I think Grackle is correct. I threw some rolls (that were left over from Easter & that were getting moldy) out over the front yard & within minutes the grass was just full of all kinds of birds that were greedily grabbing chunks of the rolls---a cowbird, sparrows, 2 juncos, several red-winged blackbirds, and a whole bunch of juvenile european starlings. A couple of sparrows got in a fight & one flew up onto the pole of the birdfeeder--I've never seen such a puffed up sparrow in my life--I didn't even know they could make themselves look that big! I almost blipped it, but changed my mind & went with the grackle, as I liked it's shiny head!!
It's very deceptive today, as the sun's out so it looks gorgeous, but it's only 24 degrees!! The water in both birdbaths is frozen solid....again!! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.