It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Bikes n Bread

I misjudged my timing this morning and just missed the 9:40 ride by a few minutes. Ohh well…..lets have a nice easy 9:45 one. The chap leading the ride was cool, but I was cooler. It had looked nice from the house so I decided to wear shorts…..  Pace was well too slow and I was a little nervous that the majority of the group couldn't 'ride wheels'.
 
I stayed with everyone until the turn, just beyond Gullane, but they chose to stop (in a shaded area which I didn't think was the safest). I shifted into a bigger gear and was gone, off on my own towards home. It was good to be getting warm. Worryingly,  a bit of my bike (freehub body) was making a dreadful noise now and again but I was sure I would get home ok.
 
Reaching Musselburgh I found myself in a 30 strong group of riders, the 9:30 ones with many of them being skinny racers. It was nice to be in a 'predictable' group and although they go very fast, you can be confident that most will not do a daft move. When cycling in a group, trust is everything. I left them in Duddingston and I went down to Breadshare  to get some stuff for lunch.I chatted for ages about bran scones with the chap in the bakery. I told him about the massive queues outside Manson's the bakery at Stoneybank when I was wee! Breadshare's bran scones were much better though! 
 
Their sourdough is like a very high quality Scottish Plain loaf, probably the best bread on earth for toasting due to the way it stays crispy even when very buttery. I stuffed the loaf up my jersey, went to Bikecraft to order a new freehub body, ate lunch and then fell asleep for a few hours.
 

As Rosemary was away, I was at a loose end for the evening and decided to jump on a train with my camera to North Berwick. It was great walking on the beach and getting some sea air.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.