... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Port Meadow: Red Kite

More radiant a raptor in large.

I had fun on Port Meadow this morning: I headed out in the early sunshine, and saw a lot of birds. I'd been hoping to do a loop including the Trap Grounds, but the pedestrian bridge over the railway was closed so I took myself on a different route...

I photographed greylags in flight, swallows catching insects, a backlit magpie, loads of teal on the water, a jackdaw with material for a nest, a rook, a mistle thrush with a worm, and then this red kite appeared! It was quickly mobbed by a crow (which chased it this way and that way), and it seemed most put out to have to flap rather than just soar... I spotted a heron on the Oxford Canal on my way back: it landed on a sunken boat before flapping off into town...

I took loads of pictures, and had a very jolly time. I've linked to most of my favourites above (although there are plenty more of the kite...), but the rest can be found on Flickr (right from here).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.