Louise - Changing Natures

By louisemac

Old Faithfull

I managed to get my timing spot on this year to catch this perfect magnolia specimen at the Botanics in Edinburgh at its peak.

It's an annual trek - and often I miss the best of it, though its white companions tend to come a week or so later, so there are always compensations. But I do love it so - it feels like spring is complete when I spend some time in its majestic, if somewhat fleeting, company. 

It has legendary status for those in the know too - it's a wee bit hidden as well, which makes the discovery of it even more magical. When we were having coffee at the East Gate we heard people at the next table explaining they had been urged to go and find it by friends.

The cherry tree at the East Gate was also on stunning form - probably my all time favourite - but as cherry blossom was the blip yesterday, today it was all about this wax-petalled gem. Especially when the light was so kind too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.