atoll

By atoll

Prometheus and the Cherry Picker

Went to see Ridley Scott's Prometheus with MrsB tonight in Manchester. I am probably the worlds worst watcher of scary movies, but I can tell that this one was not that frightening as I didn't have to hide behind my hands once - like I did in I am Legend (when Dr Robert Neville gets caught up by the wire cable trap with sunset and the zombies fast approaching). I had agreed to go see that Will Smith film in complete innocence, not knowing it was an action thriller. MrsB also likes to tell everyone to great laughter, I once got palpatations watching Whitney Houston in The Bodyguard - which though technically true, did have mitigating factors. She loves me really (I think).

I blame my dad for all this: When we used to watch the very scary ITV Thriller programmes as a family back in the 70's, he used to rush off to bed first and often then lay in wait hiding behind doors or in my bedroom wardrobe, only to burst out with a lit torch under his chin as I turned off the light. Other times, he would just go straight to bed, but as I was never sure, I took an age going upstairs. Scarred for life, but of course, these were the days before Childline.

Back to my blip, I first thought about uploading this alien-looking giant house Spider seen in Blipfolio, and taken earlier today using my little macro attachement, but decided it was not nearly crisp enough. Still looks like a Tarantula to me, even though I know it was only about 2cm across really.

After the film, to show her a good time (along with the half price Orange Wednesday tickets), I took MrsB on a detour home via my old stomping grounds in Ordsall, Salford. You can tell you are getting old, when the pub you used to regularly have 'lock-ins' in is long since closed and knocked down (The Albion on Ordsall Lane). As the sun was setting I drove by a reach (suggested collective noun) of cherry pickers and so stopped to blip this. I remembered seeing them from previous trips-in on the metro, and guess the hire firm do it to act as free advertising.

I thought they looked quite sculptural and extra-terrestrial at the same time. Salford looked quite pleasing on the eye tonight, and I even blipped Ordsall Hall which you don't expect to find in the middle of a city like this. Guy Fawkes is reputed to have stayed at one time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.