Coruscation

I've been very out of sorts this last few days, not coping so well with being patient and resting, although when I do go out for a short walk I'm reminded how important that is. I don't feel quite fully present to myself. My head still feels somewhat numb and that goes for my mind too. It's a really unusual feeling.

Now here's a strange thing. Although I've been sleeping very solidly this last week - to the point where it's been a real struggle to wake up at all - this morning I found myself wide awake at close to first light. I realised it was foggy outside, which immediately spoke of a temperature inversion. There was some snow last night and I'd only vaguely looked at the weather forecast to notice it was supposed to clear through to be a bright day. There was nothing to suggest anything spectacular ... so what got me up and out so early? Intuition is an incredible thing.

The timing was near perfect. I ambled around gently, with lots of sitting on rocks, for around three hours. It's a long time since I've enjoyed more perfect conditions for photography. I saw only a couple of other people about and was sorely tempted to send some text messages around. However, the trouble with getting friends out of bed early on a Sunday morning is that by the time they'd be able to join me, all the magic would likely have evaporated - although it actually didn't today. The magic kept returning, again and again, as the mist flowed in and out over Hangingstone Quarry.

I've got loads of images to process when I feel up to it. There are so many to choose from but I've returned to this sunburst shot a few times now. This was when the magic was most keenly felt, and only a few hundred yards from home too. It's a special place. It certainly gave me a burst of hope that I'll be back to normal soon. I'm certainly not suggesting it's a metaphor for the pain in my head. That's actually felt a lot better today.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.