The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Back north

Before leaving the campsite, I went to see their "pet" eels living in the stream. As I approached the bank, about 5 massive eels swam towards me, presumably expecting food. It was a bit strange but brilliant (see the extra photo).

We went to two final wineries and then headed to the ferry terminal to head back to the North Island. I'd been given two VIP lounge vouchers for the ferry. We got our own desk where we set up our laptops and then enjoyed free food and drink, including alcohol. Luxury!

When we arrived in Wellington, James checked us in to his hotel (he was booked in for a couple of days working in Wellington) and we drove to park on my friend Amy's street. Firstly because it was the only cheap parking I knew about and also I felt like it'd be safer there. We went to the Garage Project brewery and were given a free tasting of all the beers they had on tap. As we were the only people there, we were given detailed information on each beer. Then we went across the road to their pub where we got to have a few more. Amy and her boyfriend joined us for a couple of drinks and then we back back to the hotel, getting some fish and chips on the way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.