Mono Monday: A New Beginning

Nesting birds are a sure sign that Spring is on the way, although today was typical April showers with the persistent rain we've had in Kent.

A plan to pot pansies and primroses in hanging baskets was curtailed due to the rain but I did manage to fill up the bird feeder with seed and hang it between showers. My previous neighbours left several empty feeders when they moved out so I decided to use them in an attempt to attract the wildlife to my garden.

Over coffee with my friend Miriam the topic of today's Mono Monday came up. She told me her theme for school assembly this morning was coincidentally 'A New Beginning' teaching children the story of Saul's Conversion (ACTS 9). It got me thinking about seeing things in a new light which sums up my current attitude to life.

A brief walk in the Castle grounds early evening took me past several nesting birds including this nesting mute swan and coot sat on their nests in the woodland.

I spotted one of the Black Swans on Castle Island repositioning over her eggs but the photograph doesn't really work in mono. Hoping the eggs hatch successfully over the coming weeks. I'll keep you posted...

Thank you to DavidC for hosting today's MM116.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.