The toads returned

We only just managed to finish renovating two of our ponds before the toads returned, and had to rush out to get some vegetation to give them a bit of cover before we went to Dorset. Earlier today we noticed that they had spawned around the water-starwort in the biggest pond, which was a relief. 

As it was a mild and damp evening I went out to see how they were doing. I think the numbers might be declining, but there were at least eight in the big pond at the end of the garden (which is where they have bred the last few years), and I also found three in the pond  close to the house, which is a new site for them. I started to count the smooth newts (see extra), but gave up because there were too many! I hope Alex is having more success counting the great-crested newts at Orton Pit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.