HilaryinOman

By HilaryinOman

Common Kingfisher(Alcedo atthis)

This may well be the one of the last photographs of this 'friendly' beauty. It definitely isn't one of my best photos but it was taken in very poor light and I'm desperate to see her while I can, it really is hotting up here and although there are plenty of little fish (like this one in her beak) the band in the book gets thinner (signifiying less chance of seeing a Kingfisher)and then totally disappears in May through to the middle of August. I shall miss this little bird, her brilliant, bright feathers and how close she has allowed me to get, she has been very good to me and my passion for bird photography. I have actually got some cracking shots of this little pocket firework, most people just see a streak of azure and turquoise so I have been very, very lucky!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.