Tiny (Slice) ?

I have travelled to London today for a meeting. Amazingly sunny in the capital, a complete contrast with home. 

I spent quite a bit of the morning at The Friends House on the Euston Road, working (good wi fi). Before a colleague arrived, I took a break and had a look inside the nearby Wellcome Collection. What a fantastic place, I've never been inside before, I will go again. 

This blip is not for the squeamish ! It is a (very thin - tiny in fact) slice through a cadaver, by Dr Gunther von Hagen, which has then been plastinated. On another exhibit it explains that some find this educational and life affirming, others think it sensationalist. Make your own mind up. 

The Collection has a wonderful library space, full of the most amazing exhibits. I found myself face to face with Beethoven's death mask, which in its way was strangely moving. And I liked the 1920's dentists chair - complete with chandelier for good lighting. The early 19th century chastity belt was bizarre. 

The meeting itself was totally surreal. In a very good way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.