a little bit of rhubarb

By Puggle

Queen Vic Building + bonus spontaneous whinge

Off to the State Library this afternoon (via an extremely circuitous route that managed to take in the ABC** shop in the Queen Victoria Building.) Was torn between a building-y type shot today, or what is probably the worst designer label window display I've ever seen, of which I shall say no more for the present other than "balloon animals." Regrettably, I deleted the latter shot so now I'm stuck with just plain building photos.

And yes, ok, the eagle-eyed Sydneysiders among you may be well aware that the ABC shop isn't on this floor precisely, but the floor below. One must approach the ABC shop with caution, or else leave with a credit card that has been flogged to within an inch of its life. Which is why I launched a flank attack and sort of snuck up on it.

Typically, my mission was futile - why, I ask you, is there a sudden rush on series 2 of Tenko, to the point of there being no stock in Australia? The programme is over 30 years old - surely all the Whovians haven't just discovered that Leela (from the Fourth Doctor Who, c.mid-1970s for those who need assistance in such matters) was actually hired by the BBC for serious dramatic roles? It's like there being a stampede for The Oneiden Line or The Duchess of Duke Street.

All I can say is: it's a sad reflection on the current programmes being broadcast on television. One is almost looking forward to the Olympics, just for something other than lowest-common-denominator shows (yes, The Shire, I mean you.)

Crumbs, I just read this over. Am I the only person who starts typing with one subject in mind and winds up at a totally different topic of conversation?

________
**Australian Broadcasting Commission. The BBC, but not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.