a little bit of rhubarb

By Puggle

Naval Base Graving Dock

Out at Garden Island Naval Base, to carry out periodic buildng inspections. Grabbed a quick snap of the graving dock as I trotted past - it's a hasty photo that's decidedly lacking in compositional qualities because the last time I took a photo of the graving dock (then occupied by HMAS Melbourne, and it was a nicely framed shot too) I was hauled off and grilled by security.***

Yeah, beause I can identify one frigate or warship from another ("Is that the ship painted french grey or the steel grey one?") and I'm a major terrorist threat.

My authorisation technically applies only to photographing the buildings for the purposes of my job, and not even all of the buildings at that - there are Secret Squirrel ones that none of us are allowed to go near, much less photograph.

The graving dock always fascinates me. I love seeing what's in the dock, and even if there is nothing to see there is still something irrisistible about it. As you can patently see, there's a Sydney harbour ferry being overhauled, and it reinforces the scale of the graving dock. It's not quite a yellow rubber duck floating in the bathtub, but it's kind of close. The other end of the graving dock's occupied by a naval ship (something frigate-y or warship-py), which is just visible if you squint a bit.
____

** I got out of trouble on that occasion by acting dumber than usual. This is a no-fail strategy on a base where 99% of the population is male. No offence, lads - you're doing a lovely job.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.