Home Alone

With His Lordship engaged in business elsewhere for the day, I had the freedom to wander hither and thither. Unfortunately the dire wet weather put pay to an excursion down the coast to North Berwick with my sketchbook and camera.

Instead I decided on the feel good factor of a cinema visit to see the film, Eddie the Eagle. I try not to go to the cinema just after lunch because while I am wide awake for the showing of the adverts, as soon as the film starts, the warmth and enveloping darkness sends me off to sleep and I miss the first 10minutes of the story.

However today as I battled the jumps with Eddie, I was wide awake but often with my hand over my eyes watching some of his falls, and at the end there was a lump in my throat seeing him achieve his goal of setting the new British Record at that time for the 90 metre ski jump. A wonderful example of perseverance against the odds.

It was a lovely feel good film, funny and inspiring in equal measure, just the thing for me on another day of rain, home alone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.