Family Search

I wasted enjoyed a whole day today doing more family history research in view of what I have been learning on my Genealogy course.  I was rather surprised to discover I can't confirm the birth of my great grandfather, although I have his marriage and death certificates.  

The entry I thought was his now looks decidedly uncertain, unless his parents moved over 100 miles away and then moved back again a couple of years later.  It's possible, but very unlikely at the time, so I'll have to look again.

We've booked a session on Friday at Scotland's People in Edinburgh to peruse the records there, so maybe I'll be able to check it all out.  My husband is also having problems with some of his ancestors because of a name change caused by a scandal in the family!  We know the story and it's great fun to find the information that confirms it.

One of the things mentioned on the course was that most people love to have a rogue in their family history, as long as it's in the dim and distant past!  Do you have any in yours?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.