Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Pyramids

I am sure I took my camera out at work and took some shots of slow moving traffic on Sheikh Zayed Road and I was going to tell you all about Dubai's WILD traffic, but no idea what happened to them!! I pressed the shutter at least 4 times!

Actually, it's probably just as well I didn't get a picture, as I was told by a colleague earlier in the week, that you're not allowed to talk negatively about the recession economy. Someone she knows picked up a £192 ($270) fine for doing just that. And shop keepers who speak about the downturn are getting a fine five times that amount! What in the world?

I know that a few weeks ago when we had an awful thunderstorm and subsequent flooding, people who had shared mobile phone pictures of the floods on social media were warned/fined! Not quite the Dubai I've known.

So... my offering for Wild Wednesday is Pyramids at Wafi... a very smart destination which dates back to the 90's and has a super health spa and some very fine restaurants, one of which we ate at this evening. I got my official letter today!

The "wild" bit is how lavish luxurious it is and maybe slightly out of place - in Dubai? They do a Sound & Light show every evening, projecting images on these very large statues, in fact, in one of the sequences, they "dress" them up. It is actually very interesting to watch.

Almost the weekend, and we've both survived the week. Just one more day to get through...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.