We're going on a bug hunt

I was invited to go along with with year 5 to Fine Shade Woods for the day. Thank goodness it was today and not yesterday, it has been a beautiful sunny warm day today.  The kids started by making dens in the woodland where I took this. They spent over an hour fetching and carrying logs, constructing and de-constructing dens, searching for the right log, basically have a fab time.  We did not hear one murmur of complaint from them, they just got on with it.

Then after lunch we went on a bug hunt. Mostly, we found beetles and a few spiders. I did manage to locate a centipede and a girl put him in her magnifying pot. Again they loved it, and arrived back at the coach muddy and tired. Oh what a great day.  A little spoilt I felt by some staff buying huge delicious looking ice creams. I couldn't help myself and had to say something about how inappropriate I thought it was, that they were eating them in front of the children.  I know I would have been talked about after this, but I would rather that than me regretting not saying anything. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.