The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Freeman's Marsh (Wednesday 13th April 2016)

Now the days are lengthening it's possible to venture slightly further afield, so as today was so good (and as rain is predicted for tomorrow) I set off with a picnic lunch and drove beyond Marlborough to Froxfield to walk along a section of the Kennet and Avon that was new to me.

I consumed the picnic lunch pretty much as soon as I reached the canal so I didn't have to carry it with me and set off towards Hungerford. There were several boaters travelling through the locks and all of them said or waved hello.

I was incensed by one dog walker who let her half-dozen untethered dogs run up to me barking their heads off, catching me by surprise as I was sitting on a bench quietly reading. Unbelievably, she did exactly the same thing on her way back, despite my scowling silence previously when she'd said a cheery hello without a hint of apology.

All other aspects of the walk were very pleasurable. I saw one enormous fish leap out of the water (possibly a trout?) and when I reached Freeman's Marsh a single red kite flew along the canal towards me (see Extra).

I stopped off at Marlborough on the way back and had a long camera chat to a lady who lives in Kennet Place and who pointed out the best spots for seeing water voles, and spoke about the local moorhens, herons, swans and red kites. I might also have had coffee and cake in Waitrose.

L.
13.4.2016 (2005 hr)

Blip #1804 (#2054 including archived blips)
Consecutive Blip #003
Day #2211
LOTD #1038 (#1162 including archived blips)

Taken with Pentax K-50 (Yellow) and Pentax smc P-DA 17-70mm F4 AL (IF) SDM lens

Landscape series
Canals series
Kennet and Avon Canal series

A Visit To Froxfield and Freeman's Marsh, 13 April 2016 (Flickr album)

For anyone wanting more canal photography (or swans), the album for  last week's Caen Hill Locks visit is now posted. The Lacock Abbey set is also up:
A Trip To Caen Hill Locks, 7 April 2016 (Flickr album)
A Walk Around Lacock Abbey Grounds, 8 April 2016 (Flickr album)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Mogwai - Ether (2016)
I have been meaning to post this for some time, but there is a valid reason for today as I bought a copy of Uncut magazine and found that this was one of the tracks on the accompanying CD. It comes from the album Atomic: A Soundtrack By Mogwai. Additionally, Stuart Braithwaite was a guest on Radcliffe & Maconie's show during the afternoon and this track was played. Ether marks the opening of the film Atomic and replaced a piece by Wagner on the film soundtrack.

One year ago:
Bowood 2015 #15

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.