A time for everything

By turnx3

Busy afternoon on the river

Wednesday
I decided on a change from my usual local walks, and instead drove to the locks at Bois-le-Roi. It had been several months since I'd been, and I was pleasantly surprised to find the footbridge across the locks and weir, which had been closed, was now open. Better still, there was a barge just coming down the river, so I went up to the footbridge for a good vantage point. While I was there, a French guy came up and joined me and started chatting. He was a local, living in the village, so was a regular visitor to the locks and knew quite a bit about the barge traffic. I then walked along the river, past some of the huge mansions built during the Belle Époque, crossed the river at the road bridge to the Chatrettes side, then walked back, and crossed back via the footbridge, at which point there was another barge going through the lock. I saw a couple of other barges as I was walking, so it was a busy afternoon for barge traffic!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.