Leiflife

By Leiflife

Rainy Day Visit

Bryce arrived at seven, and I had risen early to be prepared. Impossible! No way at seventy-one to be really prepared for a six-year-old boy's miraculous energy. It was all in his voice as he tried to sit still while I tried to eat one of the waffle's I had planned as a surprise for him. "No thanks, Nanny; I ate. I brought my umbrella. Is it time to take Music out for a walk? Dogs don't mind rain. I love to walk in the rain. Can I get out the blocks and animals when we come back? Can we go to the Annex later? I decided I do want to paint on pottery. Will you teach me to dance? I love you, Nanny." The unstoppable stream of enthusiastic energy... Well... It awed me and overwhelmed me, and I couldn't help loving this adorable son of my son. But exhaustion was threatening way too early. I got the waffle down and we were on our way. 

Bryce does love to walk in the rain, and dear old Music seemed to catch a little of Bryce's eagerness. And the frog umbrella, which I gave him a few years back, was charming to photograph. So we did it all: the animals danced the conga; we did a rather brief Airth class (not sure he got the breathing part); we walked to the annex where he painted intensely (in total silence!); we picked wildflowers in the rain, and ate two brunches before he was ready to read to me from his animal book on my bed. It really was all quite wonderful, and I include two extras: one from the annex and one while he was petting Pearl. She surprised me and tolerated the little boy energy happily. I surprised me, too, but I was more than ready for a nap after Bryce went home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.