Urban wildlife

Day 6 of the nature photography challenge.  I got quite a few photos I liked today, but had to choose this unusual sight for my photo of the day.  On my way home this evening, I noticed a man watching the pond just outside Guildhall Yard - then saw the heron that had grabbed his attention.  I had a heavy laptop bag in one hand, but luckily had my camera ready in the other.  It's a pretty terrible photo - the focus seems to be on the grasses, rather than on the bird - but never mind.  I was amazed at how un-bothered the heron was by all the people and cars going past - it was just completely focused on, I'm guessing, catching one of the big plump koi carp that live in this pond.  I was hurrying to catch my train, so didn't wait to find out whether it succeeded....

I felt really hungover today - totally unfair, as I only had two cocktails last night (which only had whiskey in, and no other spirits), plus a couple of soft drinks and a massive meal.  Rubbish.  Gave me a good excuse to at a total load of junk today though ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.