Hotel....

....where we're staying tonight. I love history & historical buildings, as I've mentioned before, so when I saw this hotel online I knew we had to stay here, and what a gem it is!! It was built in 1882 & fashioned after the finest hotels of late 19th century Europe. When built, the owners hoped to attract winter visitors from the North to come and spend time here in Georgia over the winter. Originally there were 101 rooms, & 5 stories, along with a tower and a turret, & was the site of numerous balls and celebrations. It closed in 1972, but was re-opened in 1991 after a $6.5 million dollar renovation, and inside it totally looks like they spent that much, as it's fabulous! Lots of different woods like golden oak and walnut--chandeliers, balconies--I love it! Tomorrow morning we're doing a short drive over to the Historic site of the terrible Andersonville( civil war) prison, which I've always wanted to see, & then we'll be off to Gainesville for the blipmeet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.