Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

The Big Boy

Finally got my print of the Union Pacific Big Boy 4017 framed.  Actually just a reasonable cost frame from the internet.  Interesting photo/poster which I bought in Cheyenne, Wyoming when my wife and I went up to see the UP BigBoy 4014 that had just made the trip to Cheyenne for a total rebuild.  When finished it will be the largest steam locomotive running in the world.  Amazing piece of history.  Cannot wait to see and hear it.  The Denver Post runs a UP train, often with their heritage steam at the lead, from Denver to Cheyenne for "Cheyenne Days" - a very good world-class rodeo and all around western celebration.  Yes - it is on the bucket list.

Actually, having a BigBoy pull a long train was what got me into N scale.  In fact, 4019 and 4024 are on the layout in N scale with sound.

The four box cars in their little cases are commemorative cars that I don't run - three from various anniversaries of Model Railroader magazine, and the large one on the left an anniversary car for Micro Trains - a large manufacturer of cars.

Back to doing scenery.  I will have another blip soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.