Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

The Argo Mill is Installed

Today I added a little more color to the rock faces by the Argo Mill.  Not sure it is enough but OK for now.  Also ballasted the tracks, added earth and rocks, and then a few weed tuffs here and there.  Next will be the trees.

I am waiting for an update to my "tree machine" from the McKenzie brothers.  It will make the process easier and faster.  Good thing as I have hundreds of trees to make - maybe a thousand.  A layout simply swallows trees like a monster. 

The hill behind the mill is, in actuality, fairly full of large pine and fir trees.  I don't plan on doing them to scale as they would be very large.  Just big enough to look right.

I know that the DRGW ballast is too neat for a siding, but I like the way a nice profile looks with the n scale track.  Hey - maybe in my world they paid more attention to this stuff.

The large flat foundation in the foreground is the base for the Yule Marble Company (actually in Marble Colorado).  A wooden craftsman kit yet to be built.  The large flat space to the right will be an Nn3 switch yard. The marble arrives by n scale narrow gauge from off the layout.  No locomotives - I sold them.  But a place to have some narrow gauge cars full of little marble pieces.

While I wait for the tree machine update (due this week) I will start adding dirt and rocks to the long side of the layout on either side of the bridges.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.