Abstract Thursday: Mazda2

Bang on trend with a sporty retro feel and highly desirable, one would be forgiven for mistaking the interior design of this Mazda2 for a stylish Italian automaker's handiwork or perhaps a trendy Mini.

The black plastic and conservative dullness of Mazda's interiors from just four years ago - when I left the company - seem a world apart from today's designs.

Catching up with the dealership sales manager, while waiting for my MX-5 wheel rebalancing, he talked about 'March madness' which proved a record new car sales month and I had a glimpse at images of the new MX-5 roadster recently unveiled at New York Auto Show.

Named the RF for 'Retractable Fastback' this new MX-5 Roadster has style cues that remind me of the RX-8. See CAR magazine's show report here.

Bad news for me in that my beloved MX-5 has one buckled wheel and another needing new bearings, most likely from driving over pot holes in the country lanes. So it turns out the noise and vibration I complained about to my local independent garage weren't imagined. Serves me right for not taking it to my trusty Mazda garage in the first place.

Unforeseen cost and inconvenience means postponing my weekend away to meet my friend's newly adopted children and a long overdue visit to my cousin, disappointing but it's not safe to drive long distance on dodgy wheels.

Praying to the weather gods I can potter in my garden in between spring cleaning indoors this weekend instead. May as well make the most of being stranded and broke!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.