Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Cologne - Chair, Cathedral and Cr*p!

Today we stopped off at Cologne, Germany. You may well ask why I have posted a picture of a chair instead of their famous Gothic Cathedral.

During a guided walking tour of Cologne, which was memorable for some elderly Americans being peeved that they could not spend their dollars in Germany, we escaped to a the oldest bar in town. I enjoyed some German Kölsch beer (which the guide had said was voted the best in the world by The New York Times). It was very good - served in a long glass and about half a pint.

We then headed to the museum where we were advised there was a display of works by Picasso. Entry was 13 euros each. The art on display was 'weird'. Stuff by Picasso was minimal. The 'best' of it was the pic (extra) I took of the 'portable war memorial', so I ended up creating my own art in an art museum - hence the chair pic!  Even Mrs BB wasn't impressed with what was on display. It was cr*p. It felt as though we'd been robbed of £20. At least the toilet was free instead of the half euro most places charge!

For the traditionalists, I've put a picture of the Cathedral as an extra, and included a picture of a person balancing on the edge of a bridge- which sort of summed up the visit here!

I'm advised it's a Bertoia (Harry) side chair 1952.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.