Springfield

CMC is heading to an early morning meeting in Stromness - after awakening to snow.  This is part of the ‘knowledge’ - i.e. the backstreets of Stromness heading towards the junction of Manse Lane and Springfield.  After the meeting I went along to the foot of Church Road to see my Mum.  After all, Mum knows best. 

After some over-heavy consuming in the Stromness Co-op (and an in-depth meeting with Drew) we returned to base camp.  I have my recipe book out and will be cooking CMC and Zibby - our temporary house-boy and bread winner.

Why didn’t Cy Grant form a band with Chris Gittins and June Imray; they could have redefined world culture.  Ralph Brand, Willie Hamilton, Brian Redhead and Jake Thackeray; one can only wonder. 

When I was across at me Mum’s she was reminiscing about the night I was a guest in a cell courtesy of the City of Glasgow Police in Queen Street at the age of 13.  She and my Dad were mortified.  I was cold.  As was my porridge.  They let me out (with my pal) at 5.30 in the morning.  It was late March and it was bloody well freezing.  We made our way out to catch the ferry to Islay.  I think this was 1963.  Is there a plaque in the cell ? 

Is it Six-Five Special tonight? 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.