Tools of the trade

At the risk of you thinking that I'm about 100 years old, I'll let you into a secret. This is the type of adding machine that I used to use when I first started work as an Apprentice to Accountancy. About a year after I started work, I was told that we would be getting 4 new "electronic calculators", called "Anitas",  at a cost of about £400 each (an enormous sum, and bear in mind we were purchasing four - there were over 12,000 employees where I was working!). They said these new calculators would display the numbers in lights across the top, and we would be able to multiply and divide too, as well as add and subtract. As an apprentice, (and especially as the first female apprentice that they had ever taken on) I was always having tricks played on me - "Go to the stores and fetch a sky hook / left handed screwdriver / bubble for a spirit level" etc etc. So I knew better, and I wasn't going to believe any of these fictitious stories about so-called calculators that would show the numbers in a display in lights. 
I felt stupid when the Anitas duly arrived, the forerunners of today's calculators. 
Roll forward quite  a few years, and one new job that I started, on my first day they had found one of these old calculators in a cupboard, and put it on my desk as a joke, as no-one knew how to use it. Without blinking an eyelid, I thanked them and got on with my work, using the old calculator, and they were astonished as they had never seen one used before. The handle on the side was turned to the back to add, and the opposite way to subtract, and a ribbon and till roll went in the top, to produce the printout. 
This is in the wonderful display which is currently on at Upton House, which temporarily held the offices of a bank during the war, when all the workers were moved from London to the safety of the country house which is some distance from any large town. 
My extra is of the bathroom which the female staff used, next to their dormitory. My mother used to have an identical  container to the one on the right, and inside was the magic powder (Coty) which she dusted her face with, using the softest little puff which was also in her box - it may have been ostrich down. I opened the box  - empty, but the scent remained,  and I was immediately transported to being about 6 years old again, and I could smell my Mum's face as I cuddled up to her. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.