a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Life in the Lane

Just a day.  


6am A quick shower and shave, get into cycling kit and drive to Bristol.

7am - 9am Meet Ben and Neil for a 50km pre-breakfast ride from Bristol to Clevedon and back.  

(I've not been doing much on the bike since last year, and they definitely have. But they were kind to me, and it was a very enjoyable session, despite the occasional rain or drizzle.)

9am - 10am breakfast with Ben and Neil - relaxing and enjoying a well earned breakfast out.  I've cycled in the Alps and Pyrenees with Ben and Neil and they are great company.

10:30 - 15:00 back to the office.  I joined my team for our team building day out.  At Bristol's Bordeaux Quays Restaurant and cookery school we split into teams for their pasta making cookery class.  We made two different types of pasta (i.e. different mixtures) one of which was a crab ravioli parcel.  After much concentration, competition, collaboration and hilarity we all sat down together to eat the results of our efforts.  It was all surprisingly good!

15:00 - 19:00 Ten pin bowling, pool and Karaoke (in roughly that order).  Much laughter and lots of noise, some of which may have qualified as singing  (I hope my team aren't reading this; but if they are I have some video evidence if necessary ...).  

Here is shot of Oli about to bowl.  He actually managed a strike with that ball, despite all his clowning for the camera.  

My team all seemed to enjoy themselves, and got the chance to mix and let their hair down, which was my main aim.  All in all, a very worthwhile event.  When I left at 7pm there was a still a hard core, who were clearly potentially out for the duration, or at least a good few hours more.... While they tried to persuade me to stay, it was clearly time for the old man to go home and to leave the younger people to it :-)

19:00 -   now home, with a bike and muddy road cycling kit to wash.  I've managed a quick chat with Cathy about her day and have checked my work e-mails, to just ensure that there is nothing terrible that needs my attention tonight.  So, now its just gone 9pm.  I have a good friend coming to stay for the weekend (guitar playing and beer drinking feature), so there are few preparatory chores to do before bed time still.  I have however managed a (very grainy) blip so please do accept my apologies, that while I will be catching up with blip, it will probably not be until Sunday.  

Have a great weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.