CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The river bank surprise

I had a few minutes to spare after dropping Helena at her teaching job near Brimscombe, and a camera.  I parked by the old bridge, where Hope Mill Lane crosses the River Frome, and wandered slowly about enjoying the sound of the river flowing swiftly by.  A lot of birds sang brightly as they flew between the branches of trees on both sides of the river.

I walked to the bridge and leaned down to peer into the water running beneath. Then I spotted some purple flowers on the unkempt undergrowth on the bank close by the bridge.  I found a way over the fence and managed to get close enough to grab this picture for today's Flower Friday challenge.  I don't know what the plant actually is called, but I was delighted by their colour and this time of the year, and their shape which reminded me of mallow flowers although I'm sure they are not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.