mef13

By mef13

Bluebell Time

I went down to the woods today, hopeful of finding a carpet of bluebells.  Inspired by flyers posted to telegraph poles around the village,  inviting participants on a bluebell walk  next weekend, I thought I would get in early.
Was I disappointed? The swathes of blue with woodland ground areas covered in bluebells, just were not there.
To be honest we had a better display of bluebells in the hedgerow at home where today’s Blipfoto was taken.
Yet just a year ago, I visited the same woodlands, and was met with a glorious display. There were a few clumps of blooms, but not the vast display that I expected.  In fact I passed a better display on the way home, but it was not my day, because that was on a stretch of road where I could not stop.
So hooray for the few bluebells we have in the garden at home. They were far more Spring-like than the meagre showing in the woods.

I only hope the bluebell walkers next weekend are better rewarded.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.