stuartjross

By stuartjross

Loch Laide

Working at Abriachan today on a very elevated site about 1000 feet above Loch Ness which sits at the bottom of the Great Glen a couple of miles away. Despite the height advantage the views out from the site didn't present any startling blip options and I stopped at the side of this wee hill loch on the way home. Also it was a frustrating day of intermittent very heavy showers and you would have been soaked in seconds if you didn't stop immediately and get the wet weather gear on; then the sun would come out for five minutes and the mist started rising again.

The drive home on the A82 was dreadful. While I recognise everyone has a right to use the road the congestion and frustration to trucks and buses from negotiating columns of cyclists was unsettling. North of Drum. I was stuck in a slow moving line about a mile long and realised the buses at the head of the queue simply could not get past the cyclists safely. Further on I myself had to do an emergency stop when I met an on coming vehicle on my side of the road passing cyclists. To some degree I was pleased that he was giving the cyclists enough room but clearly he had got frustrated and decided to pass them on a blind corner.
There are two issues here; the right of cyclists to use the road and the common sense view of what is safe and activity which could lead to a very serious accident. Based on the amount of near misses I saw today it is only a matter of time before there is a serious occurence.
I enjoy cycling in a casual way. If I was going to cycle to Inverness I would take the alternative Great Glen Way track and/ or go on the south side of Loch Ness via Foyers, despite the gradients there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.