Kitchen Cove, 15.34; 16.04.16

The alarm went at 5.05am, and I was out of the house, unwashed, by 5.20am! It was still dark! I arrived at Knocknataggart as the sun was rising but it was perishing. The birds were up though and I recorded a good mixture for the bird survey, mostly raucous wrens and tiny but incredibly loud warblers, as yet to be confidently identified- (I'm going for willow warblers). The swallows and martins have arrived and I also saw a kestrel, surprisingly rare hereabouts. The colours were orange and I met no-one except for a curious horse and an old dog who couldn't be bothered to get up but wagged his tail gently.

It was all happening on the way home though. Good weather and people were out jogging, walking, canoeing, shelf stacking (Aldi), street cleaning, preparing breakfast (West Cork Hotel,  and an old people's home), painting signage, sorting out golf buggies and rock breaking.

Too nice to be in and my back needed a rest after all the hard graft of yesterday so........ well hunting! Himself was driving and I am very grateful for we were in pursuit of two wells, both in incredibly scenic and remote spots but both requiring nerves of steel - especially St Bridget's Well in Squince Harbour where the minuscule road was vertical and there was more pot hole than road. Rather alarmingly the road petered out on the map from a skinny yellow to a pale and ambiguous grey. We discovered why.

It is however Kitchen Cove Day and for once the sun was shining. In fact it's very clear. You can see right over to the Mizen Peninsula and the golf balls on top of Mt Gabriel, actually transatlantic tracking devices. I've stepped further in onto the strand than normal. So bold.

And I meant to say we were mingling with Lord Puttnam in the local DIY shop - we were buying something technical for the polytunnel and he was investing in a new cafetiere - just saying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.