If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Royal Scot.

What a day!  Clickychick was busy at the studio so I was on my own prepping the Lodge for the new guests.  "No problem", I did it on my own when she had the shop.  What a silly thing to say!  Various problems reared their ugly head not least the deep freeze which had so much ice the door was 1 inch open and so I had to defrost.

One thing lead to another and I was still there working when the guests arrived.  Fortunately they had been before and were easy going saying they would finish the floor in the living room which was all that was left.  The result was that before I had finished everything and called in at the studio it was nearly 4:00 when I got home.

Unusually there were two steam locos in the county today and one was coming past Penrith at between 6:15 and 6:30  It was an opportunity not to be missed so we drove the few miles to our usual viewing point.

So here is the Royal Scot hauling a train called for obvious reasons "The Scot Commemorative".  Loco 6100 is an engine of the Royal Scot class which returned from a visit to America for the "Century of Progress" Exhibition in 1933.  IT appears to have been number 6152 The King's Dragoon Guardsman when it went out and on its return was renumbered and renamed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.