The Corridors Of Girl Power

I was honoured to have been asked to take pics at the reunion of alumni at my granddaughter's school. I met some lovely, doughty 'old girls' including one who was head of school in 1949. She had spent her life teaching chemistry all over the world.

The little badges have the school motto on them. Sic itur ad astra. This is usually translated as Reach For The Stars but the sentiment goes beyond S Club 7's rendition. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7SxSnjL3nZ0 

Virgil coined the phrase and in its entirety it translates as 'Be of courage … thus is the way to the stars' implying that hard work and application are required to achieve one's full potential.

I'm really proud that my granddaughter goes to such a wonderful school, it has Science College status, subjects at which she excels.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.