NWSMP Day 2

Rescues day, gulp....

After theory, discussion, avoiding, working around and experimenting...well eventually you have to end up at doing.
Awaking to -3°C and a very hard frost my initial thoughts were unprintable. However I'm seasoned enough (OK, OK, old) to know that everything feels better with the sun on your face, and today was definitely another bluebird day.

We started at Earnsie Point on Walney Island, beautiful in its own way, but my how the wind farm has grown. The strong onshore wind and breaking waves together with surprising long shore drift meant that whilst the water wasn't deep, wading, communication and progress were all difficult.* There was no time to let a situation get away from you, you needed to be confident and act. Yes it was cold(or so I foolishly thought...) but boy was it fun.

Back to base for lunch - and in to the lake. Even the instructors didn't believe yesterday's 8°C, so new equipment was called for, hmmm5°, lovely. Lots of lifting and first aid, some targeted throwing - all designed to keep us in the water but moving - and then on to the rescues. I struggled with the assisted tow being the only non lifeguard, realising I'd never seen the kit before I got some coaching and a 2nd go - but, and I'm very pleased with this, I nailed the unconscious tow - first male across the line. PASS.
If you told me I was never going to swim again I really don't think I'd be that bothered - but I work around water a lot, and have seen first hand how dangerous it can be. Now I feel a lot more confident about my decision making, analysis and hard skills, a great result from a great course.

As we were huddled under blankets gasping on the shore the two in the extra floated by photogenically, I don't think they had any clue there were 7 people hoping ( a teensy bit) that they might fall in.

* Looks closely and you'll see a scenario playing out. At this distance, on a glorious day like this, there's still a good chance the victim would drown before the rescuer got to them. Extra points for anyone who can name the hill.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.