WEN,NÁ,NEĆ

We saw the sign for this trail a few weeks ago and I decided to explore a bit this morning.    I didn't realize there was a 4 km route so I just walked down to the beach.  This is part of the sign at the beginning of the trail and it is a depiction of the W SÁNEĆ (Saanich) Thirteen Moon calendar.  Helen Jack from the Tsawout First Nation, one of my former students, was part of the group who shared information to be included on the sign.   I've included an extra of the entire  sign, and it's impossible to read the information, so here are two websites if you're interested.  The final paragraph in the first link explains how the land was preempted for European settlers.  Briony Penn, the artist, is a descendant from one of those first European families who settled on the land.
Description of the dedication of the sign and land
A list of the Thirteen Moons  (Scroll down to Table 1)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.