TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

Rock Hill School

Nestled atop a high knoll along Brush Valley Road in western Penns Valley, sits the Rock Hill School. The one room schoolhouse, built in 1893 and newly renovated in recent years, is now a thriving community center.
I sort of stumbled upon the school, and the Dubsite Evangelical Methodist Church that appears in the background here, as I was taking a detour through the historic village of Linden Hall this morning.
I actually spotted the church first (its photo appears in today's "extra photos" section). It wasn't until I pulled over to photograph it that I turned and saw the picturesque old school. 
I love photographing old and abandoned buildings, so today's surprising find was pretty exciting. Add to that semi-close encounters with 2 horses, a bluebird, 2 cardinals and 2 white doves and I guess you could say it was a fairly magical day. Love it when that happens. :)

School days, school days
Dear old golden rule days
Readin’ and ‘ritin’ and ‘rithmetic
Taught to the tune of the hickory stick
You were my queen in calico
I was your bashful barefoot beau
And you wrote on my slate
“I love you, so”
When we were a couple of kids

~ "School Days, School Days," Music by Gus Edwards, lyrics by Will Cobb

You can listen to the song here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Bd84CzRuxY

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.