Apologies to a Snail

I'm sorry, snail, that I disturbed you,
hurry off now, do!
What's that? You never scuttle?
You slowly leave your goo
and hope no thrushes see you?
I sort of hope that, too,
and yet our garden thrush must eat
to sing the whole day through.

© Celia Warren 2016

I disturb a lot of snails when I'm gardening. Our garden is alive with them. This is probably why we have the pleasure of a resident thrush. It was too late to apologise to the snail who was crossing the path outside our front door the other night. I heard the crunch under my foot in the dark as I returned from line-dancing. I found the mess the following morning. Such is life death!

Enjoyed playing with the Photoshop watercolour effect so much on yesterday's blip that I've used it again today. Adds interest to a simple shot, I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.