Mono Monday: The Environment

Today's Mono Monday theme of 'the environment' was going to be a challenge with a day in the Bluewater shopping centre on promo duties and a visit to the Mazda garage for car repairs.

As I walked into the shopping mall thinking about creative angles, thinking perhaps I'd have to resort to photographing yet another duck on my evening walk, I spotted this sign in the H&M window advertising World Recycle Week.

After my promo shift was over I popped into H&M to find out more. Turns out the clothing chain is launching a clothing collection initiative with customers donating clothes and textiles to be recycled and reused.

Using sound bites like 'Recycling one t shirt can save 2,100 litres of water' and 'global fashion movement for the planet' the campaign is certainly attention grabbing. It's part of their sustainability code H&M Conscious.

I regularly recycle clothes by donating to charity and as you might have seen in yesterday's blip I'm getting into upcycling pre-loved items into new garments too, but many people don't recycle so I hope this campaign has an impact.

Thank you to DavidC for today's Mono Monday theme.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.