Moving House

Well the truck with my household in it arrived this morning.  It was so badly packed that a lot had moved in transit and it took a long time to untangle the jigsaw as they unloaded it.  The guys at this end have been marvellous but I would still never use this company again if I were given the choice.

Whilst unloading the identified damage was:
Washing machine (2 months old and now has deep scratches down one side)
Headboard (one year old) with a huge rubbed spot and two long deep scratches across the centre
Fridge door damaged and trim broken
Freezer door damaged so badly that it's currently held together with a bungee cord
Computer desk completely wrecked
Antique folding tea table damaged beyond repair
Coffee table with huge scratches and rub marks on two legs
Smashed dress mirror
One wheel smashed off a heater (of course it's the fancy time one that I only bought last winter!)
Smashed picture frame
Hole through a painting

The while unpacking so far:
Two photo frames with shattered glass
A Computer that's been shaken up so badly it won't boot
A stereo that won't go - coming up with the message "misc error" - worked fine last week
Two cups of my grandmother's teaset broken

It hasn't really been a good day!  

But hey, at least it all arrived.  Or maybe not.  Still trying to track down the brackets for my duchess mirror, the rods for my shoe rack, and my sky decoder (the man is coming to set it up tomorrow and I'm frantically opening boxes in the hope that it will appear before he gets here).

Let's hope the new job goes better than the move has!

Sorry about the whinge - but you can tell what's been the focus of my day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.