An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Relax...and Trust Me

That's what Ingrid the physio said to me this morning as I lay on her table with her about to manipulate my left leg in a way I wasn't very confident about.  But I did as I was told and I am so glad I did.   

When I arrived I brought her up to date with the pain I've been experiencing and she responded to that immediately by abandoning the session she had planned to replace it with hands on physio and some more acupuncture with needles in my hip, thigh and stomach.  It really does amaze me that I don't feel a thing as she inserts the needles.

We chatted further as I lay there and for the first time in over 20 years I feel that not only is someone actually listening to what I tell them, but believing me and giving me explanations as to how things are the way they are.   Not just in connection with my knee and hip, but my general health.  Not only that, but coming up with a plan of action.

For once I feel I am being looked at holistically, instead of every issue being seen as separate and not impacting on everything else.  I came away feeling very positive and determined to make changes for the better, in all areas of my life.

And that means moving more, eating better, drinking more and sleeping more and being less hard on myself.  Also to stop avoiding pain because I'm afraid of it.   

When I stepped out of her front door, this is the view that met me.  The blue skies, sunshine, fluffy clouds and field, all ploughed and ready to produce its next crop. The smell of spring in the air and a gentle breeze.  It all felt so positive and matched my mood perfectly, it just had to be my blip.

I expect I will be in agony going upstairs at bed time but I will be focussing on the fact that pain is going to reduce.   I have my next session with her on Friday and this time it's an hour long (been half hour sessions so far) and I can't wait!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.